TVNweather.com | Tornado Chasers

An Open Letter to Chaser Haters

Hello to all,

I have been fascinated by storm chasing since seeing the Discovery show in 2008, and since then have remained a bit of a silent observer, watching chasing and trying to learn more about storm chasing and tornado research. A lot has transpired, but recently my interest in chasing has spiked. I want to carry out the smoke experiment that was started by TWISTEX but never carried out successfully (at least to my knowledge). I am a high school student, and recently I did a project on tornado research and the value of chasing to tornado research. In doing so I also fully admitted my interest and fascination with chasing and severe weather. The response I have gotten since has shocked me. People openly mock me for this fascination, a fact which has stunned me. With the school year coming to a close, I put together this letter. It is not an attack on non-chasers, it is a plea to those who disrespect chasing and chasers to take chasing seriously and leave them alone. I have posted it here so that anyone who has found themselves in a similar position might have an effective rebuttal. https://docs.google.com/document/d/1bwS74KL8wI0K_dVIYRjjqdEOBrk-DQj-dJprTPWwQtI/edit

I am in the same place as you. Storm Chasers on the Discovery Channel was my big introduction to the world of weather. I have been working towards a career in meteorology ever since.

Never give up your dream to chase there are millions of others who share your same enthusiasm & passion about weather and chasing in particular.