TVNweather.com | Tornado Chasers

Is it possible for a ef1 tornado to pick up a huge plane?

what would happen to a plane if a ef1 hit it (the plane is huge like at the nation airport) tell me what could happen please and send me a comment please!!! :smiley:

Please defin “huge plane”? Your idea of a huge plane might be different from mine. Like at the nation airport doesn’t define it either. Most aircraft of any size might sustain some wind damage from a direct hit of an EF1

I’m no expert, but wind against the wings would generate more than enough lift, and from the side… Well, high winds, large surface area, problems self explanatory. plus the fly debris MAY be able to puncture the somewhat thin airplane skin.

Any tornado vs. ANY AIRPLANE = Bye bye airplane

EF-1 tornadoes and F-1 tornadoes are two different things. The old scale (Fujita) is measured by wind speed. The new scale (Enhanced Fujita) is measured by ground damage. So if there’s a tornado that has 300 mile per hour winds and impacts a city or town that would be EF-5. But if that same tornado knocks down a lawn chair, it’s and EF-0. So to answer your question, an EF-1 tornado that has 300 mile per hour winds touches down hitting a Boeing 747 and lifts, it could pick ithe plane up and maybe throw it.

A lot depends, as has been stated, on the type of aircraft. I assume you are referring to a B-747/777 or A380 type aircraft. First, if the plane is stopped at the gate, empty, and dark, the plane might get blown around a bit, maybe even flipped, but the main threat would be flying debris. You are not going to have a hull loss because the plane was blown around a few feet. Most likely, there would be slight debris damage to the body of the aircraft, but because you are referencing an EF-1, there will not have been a lot of damage to surrounding structures, and most likely not that much damage to the aircraft either.